I Am A Work in Progress

10 Jan

This week is our church’s annual prayer and fasting.  I’ve been a Christian for a long time but this is my first time to join this church-wide event.

I admit I entered the fast with a proud heart.  I was blind. I thought I could do it alone.  I was like: “yeah, I could do this!  I will be disciplined and committed to this fast!”  I was also thinking of the material blessings I would receive after the fast.

By half of the first day, I gave in to my hunger.  I told myself, I’d do a partial fast because I have to go to work.  So I ate that first meal.  I was feeling so guilty already but by the end of the second day, I could not do it anymore.  I gave up.

EPIC FAIL!

I prayed and asked forgiveness for my failure and God made me see the error of my ways.

I was too PROUD.  Fasting is all about humbling ourselves before God.  Acknowledging that we, as human beings could not do it, could not survive without Him.  That His grace is what sustains us.  It was a mistake for me to think “I could do it.” You don’t do the fast alone, you ask God for grace because He will bring you through it.

Fasting is all about growing in God’s grace. It’s not about the material blessings that we want for the year. It’s all about experiencing God more in our lives.  “More of Christ and Less of Me.”

So yes, I admit, I failed to finish the 1 week fasting.

God isn't finished with me yet! 🙂

In human eyes, this is a failure, but not in God’s eyes.  You see, in that few hours that I committed myself to the fast, in spite of my wrong motivations and thoughts, God has already done tremendous work in my heart. I am like a blind person seeing for the first time. I am seeing God in so many new and wondrous ways! I am getting to know Him and hearing from Him in many ways possible.

I may have stopped fasting, but I never stopped being God’s child.  I keep meditating, reading His Word and I never stopped praying as well.  Yes, I am a work in progress and I am excited to see the work He is doing in my heart and in my life.

Oh yes! God isn’t finished with me yet!!! Thank you Father for your great love for me!

2 Responses to “I Am A Work in Progress”

  1. fox January 15, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    just read this now. nice! very honest and humble writing. the good thing about our God is that He never changes. His Grace is for all.

    • thewifelychronicles January 19, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

      I agree! He never changes! I am thankful for His grace and for being there through all the seasons in my life. Thanks for dropping by Fox! God bless!

Leave a Reply

