In His Image

14 Jan

I was doing my daily Bible reading today and was struck by this verse:

“So God created man in His own image, in the image of God He created them, male and female He created them.” –Genesis 1:27

I’ve read this verse so many times before but it is only now that it struck me like this.  You see, just the other day, I saw some kids on the street jokingly calling another kid: “pangit (ugly)” and it got me thinking, since God created us in His image, isn’t calling others “ugly” an insult to our maker?  And doesn’t it mean that when we call others “ugly”, we are calling ourselves “ugly” too because we have the same maker?The thought jolted me awake.  I am guilty of this, back when I was a kid and even now that I am an adult.  Oh c’mon! Let’s admit it.  We may not be calling names like a kid does, shouting and laughing, but we still do it in our own little ways.

But have we stopped to think and realize that God is the creator of heaven and earth (and everything in it) and everything God creates is beautiful.  One thing may be different from the other, but that doesn’t mean one is more beautiful than the other.

I’m taking this lesson with me everyday.   Be conscious of how I see and judge others.  Taking time to remember that God is our maker and everything He creates is beautiful.

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” – Psalm 139:13-14

photo credit: anoinamd

Leave a Reply

