God Uses Disappointments Too!

20 Jan

This is actually connected to my previous post and I’d like to share this for those who are discouraged and disappointed.

Remember I was talking about listening to podcasts during the season I recently went through?  A particular podcast by Joel Osteen ministered to me.  The title of the podcast is: “Your Life is Divinely Orchestrated”

This is no paid post – I assure you!  I just want to encourage you to download and listen to the entire podcast.  I also want to share some excerpts that really ministered to me: 

YOUR LIFE IS DIVINELY ORCHESTRATED

by Joel Osteen

 

Photo borrowed from here.

“The scripture talks about how God has already written all of our days in His book (Psalm 139:16 (NIV) Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.). He promised that His plans for us are for good and not evil (Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.). And that doesn’t mean that we won’t go through negative situations. It means that God will use everything we go through to move us toward that good plan.

We all have things happen that we don’t understand. It’s easy to think: “why did this friend betray me?” “Why did this company lay me off?” “Why didn’t I get that promotion?” “Why weren’t my prayers answered?” We have to understand, just because it seems unfair, just because it looks like a bad break, doesn’t mean it’s not a part of Gods plan! Just as God uses promotions, breakthroughs, loyal people, encouragement,  God also uses disappointments, closed doors, betrayals, persecution, to move us towards his divine plan. One of the best things I have ever learned is “nothing in life happens to me, it happens for me.” In other words, God would not have allowed it unless he has a purpose for it (Romans 8:28 (NIV) And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.)

That friend that walked out of a relationship? That person that hurt you?  God could’ve stopped it, He’s God! He could’ve kept it from happening! But since he didn’t, you have to accept the fact, this disappointment, this betrayal, this bad break, I may not like it, it may be painful right now, but I know ultimately it is not going to work against me, its going to work for me. I know God has already written a  good plan for my life, and as long  as I stay in faith, what was meant for my harm, God will use to my advantage (Genesis 50:20 You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.) When you know your life is divinely orchestrated, it takes all the pressure off! You go through a disappointment, you don’t get upset.  Your attitude is: “No big deal! I know this is part of God’s plan! This is not happening to me, this is happening for me!” You get laid off, “Yes, I’m disappointed but I’m not gonna live with a chip on my shoulder!  I know this is not a surprise to God! And when one door closes, I know god will always open up a bigger and a better door!” Somebody lies about you does you wrong: “That’s ok, I’m not gonna try to pay them back. I know nothing can happen without God’s permission so I’m gonna stay on the high road and pass this test and let God take me to a new level of my destiny.”

There’s about 25 more minutes to the rest of the podcast and they’re good! I hope you listen to it and be blessed! 🙂

2 Responses to “God Uses Disappointments Too!”

  1. fox January 24, 2011 at 2:44 am #

    love it! speaks to me and speaks of me,how did u know?? haha! it’s sharpening month for me now and i know God has good plans. thanks for this post. God bless you more.

    • thewifelychronicles January 24, 2011 at 2:47 am #

      Hahaha God is truly amazing! I didn’t really know but I guess God has His plans 😉 You know naman our Father, nothing surprises Him, but He loves surprising us! I was blessed by your post as well! God bless you more my sister in Christ!!!

Leave a Reply

