The Waiting.

26 Jan

My travel time going to work is about an hour and a half.  This involves riding a bus for a 30 minute travel and walking for about 1km (each way or to and from work) because there are no public utility vehicles passing by our office area.  I do this 5 days a week, to and from work.

I used to complain a lot about my travel time.  I complain about the undisciplined bus drivers who wait for traffic lights to turn red so they can have more passengers.  I rant about the horrendous traffic on EDSA. And I abhorred the long walks. And then I realized I was impatient because while traveling, I’ve got nothing better to do.

Have you been in this situation?  I think most of us have been in a similar spot.  We have, in our day to day journey, experienced waiting and getting impatient. Long lines in ATMs or banks.  Horrible traffic.  Waiting for someone or a package to arrive.  We get impatient.  And why is that?  Why do we feel frustrated? It’s because while waiting, we do nothing but – you guessed it right  – wait.

But you know, we can always change our attitudes so that we don’t ruin our day when waiting.  I learned that if I distract myself the wait doesn’t feel too long.  Here are some of the things I do to keep me occupied while waiting:

  1. Travelling to work – Because I get dizzy when reading on a moving vehicle.  I listen to podcasts from our church instead.  Sometimes I listen to podcasts titled “Music to Pray By” because music is being played on a piano. While listening, I also pray.  I talk to God about where I am going, I talk to him and pray for the people inside the vehicle as well.  Travel time and traffic becomes irrelevant when I talk to my Father.  Before I know it, I need to alight already.
  2. Walking a long distance – Have you ever tried walking a good distance with a friend?  The distance isn’t too far, isn’t it?  You never get too tired, don’t you?  That’s because you are talking with someone and you enjoy the company.  Your mind is too preoccupied to notice the distance.  Since I walk alone most days, I talk to God and I don’t feel or mind the distance. In fact, I’ve come to enjoy those long walks and look forward to it!
  3. Waiting for someone. If I am meeting someone at a mall and I arrive way too early, I go to a bookstore and browse through some books.  If you’re not an avid fan of reading, maybe you could do some window shopping?  This way your mind gets preoccupied.  If I am meeting someone in a coffee shop, I people watch and then pray for those people I see. 😉

I learned that doing these things develops my patience.  How about you? How do you pass time when waiting?

Leave a Reply

