See God in the Small Things

12 Jan

Promised Provisions by James Ramos

Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? – Matthew 6:26 (NIV)

I passed by the bakery just when it opened.  I thought of buying pan de sal for the house since I was able to save a few pesos from my daily budget.  “This way, mommy (my MIL) won’t have to go out later to buy. She can have a few more minutes of sleep.”

When I got home, David, our cousin saw me.  He suddenly said: “Ate Ny, I am cooking breakfast (Yakisoba), I have a few extra, I’ll cook them for you also.”  Of course I said “Yes, thank you!”  That was food! Manna from heaven! You just don’t go around saying no. Hahaha!

Kidding aside, I did say yes and thanked David for his generosity.  It didn’t even hit me until that point that I was hungry!  Instantly, I was reminded of how God takes care of us even in the small things.   God in His goodness and faithfulness touched someone to prepare breakfast for me.

David and the Yakisoba were heaven sent! Not only was my tummy filled, but the husbo got his share and there was more of it for our parents even if we had our fill! Awesome GOD!!! Oh do you know what’s more amazing?  God provided for David as well, several projects landed on David’s lap that day! AMAZING! God’s biblical principle of sowing and reaping in effect here!  Praise God!

Too often, we are only on the lookout for the bigger things – the grandest blessing that we forget to see God in the small day to day activities. And while being expectant of the bigger and grander blessing show awesome faith, let’s take time to slow down and thank God as He takes care of our every need, every single moment of every day.

Find God in the smallest of things in your day to day walk and you’ll never miss Him in the big things!

2 Responses to “See God in the Small Things”

  1. ElizOF January 13, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Amen… there is such grace in small things! We humans do tend to reach for the sun and moon and ignore the still small voice that offers us greater – God’s love. 🙂
    Thanks again for stopping by my blog the other day…
    Have a great day!
    Elizabeth

Leave a comment